I’m in Asia

Hello, everyone.

Having ran a massage business in little over a year, I’ve decided to seek change. I have experienced that it is not easy to work as a masseur and be self-employed in Norway, for many reasons.

It has been incredibly fun, exciting, educational and rewarding. I have met incredibly interesting people in the companies I’ve been working in, I’ve seen the huge difference it has made for the people who have gotten half an hour of massage and relaxation during the working day, and I have seen what it has done with whole departments in the companies I have been in. I have no doubt that massage is incredibly important and I have found it incredibly meaningful to do. For the first time in my life I’ve had a job where I was only appreciated.

Unfortunately, Norway is an expensive country to live in, and an incredibly expensive country to run a business in. I had the choice to take on a regular job in Norway (and go «back» to what I did before, which did not give me or others particular satisfaction), or to sell my possessions and pack my bags for Asia. I have long dreamed about going to countries where massage comes from and seek traditions of massage and healing. It’s one of the reasons I have chosen to end my work in Norway for travel. I also saw that it is now and not in 10 years I have this opportunity. I will be 25 years in May, and in 10 years I’ll be 35, by then I probably more responsibilities.

I’m now on a beach cafe in Goa, India. It’s so hot here that one can not do nothing but sit in the shade.

It is of course not without risk to leave for Asia, but I’ve always gotten a lot out of taking risk.

I’ll continue to write blogs regularly and keep you updated on what I’m doing.

I considered this as my first blog post.

My first goal now is to find a place I can be more permanent, India has very strict rules for residence permits for foreigners. It is quite possible that I travel to other places in Asia. Thailand ranks high on the wish list. I also look for ways to earn income, which Thailand will likely have greater opportunities for, I keep my eyes and ears open to all possibilities.

If anyone have any tips on attaining recidency in Thailand or have any travel experiences from Thailand, I would much appreciate to hear from you.

All the best,

Martin

Benauiim Beach

Fishingboats in Benaulim Beach, Goa

Benauiim Beach

Benaulim Beach Lifeguards

Benauiim Beach

More Boats in Benaulim Beach

IMG_4398

Boats with nice names

Benauiim Beach

Christian chapel

Benaulim Beach

Stunning Benaulim Beach